#PoemsAboutHer

May 6th, 2015
Listen to Write Me A Love Song

~*~

June 14th, 2015 – Kigali

I need your eyes to see beauty
I need your smile to feel happy
I need your tongue to taste something fresh
I need your touch to feel life in my flesh
I need your senses to feel mine
I need your opinion to know I’m not always right
I need your ear to know I have a voice
I need your presence to feel this void

#1key

~*~

June 22nd, 2015 – Kigali

Looking through the mist amidst the hills
I wonder if what I see is truly real
It feels like waking from an amazing dream
But wonder “Is it sunrise or dusk?”
What’s space, what’s time? What’s love, what’s lust?
Questions arise between blurred lines
Convictions of doubts fill this heart of mine
Doubting My Own Convictions is the play on my mind
Do I want? Do I need? Do I… ?

#1key

~*~

July 22nd, 2015 – Kigali

Same small city yet so far apart
Same need to achieve so we work hard
We used to look forward to seeing each  other daily
Now we got used to “see you when you see me”
She used to say “You’ve gotta make time”
And she was right but will she try tonight?
In the pursuit of a sophisticated lifestyle
We lose each other but hey that’s life
Well, the life we chose

#1key

~*~

Aug 3rd, 2015 – Kigali

Apparently in the battle between heart and mind
The body always gets hurt; is that right?
Kinda like the grass every time elephants fight
So carefully she put both parts on a scale
Weighted the odds before getting into the game
Her fears won over her guts – the heart was heavier than the brain
Aware that the first, once knocked out, can hardly recover
And the latter, knowing its ways around, is much clever
She did what she believed was best for her: Save her body
She dropped the match but little did she know
She’d lit a thatch while running free on her way home
So today the survivor covered in ash crawled to her door
Knock knock knock… she opened
He handed her a burnt manuscript he’d just penned
And staggering he walked away as she read…
“I will miss the lines and curves of your smile
The music of your voice, the light in your eyes
You’ve been a beautiful muse for the time I thought you were mine
Today I know otherwise and it’s alright
Even the luckiest man alive can’t have it all”

#1key

~*~

August 10th, 2015

“Everything that has a beginning has an end”
That’s what she said
In the end, all she’s ever wanted is to be friends

HAHAHAHAHAHA

Leave a Reply

